Italian and Angeleno - Marco Fusi on violin

presented by wasteLAnd Music

Friday, March 13, 2015 - 8:00pm

The Velaslavasay Panorama and wasteLAnd music are pleased to present an evening concert titled "Italian and Angeleno," featuring Marco Fusi.

wasteLAnd is a L.A.-based concert series dedicated to promoting the composers and performers of Southern California. wasteLAnd also seeks to help support passing performers with similar interests in their travels through Southern California. 

Selections include:

Pierluigi Billone: ITI.KE.MI. 

Annie Hui-Hsin Hsieh: Triumvir 

Andrew McIntosh: Axolotl 

Andrew McIntosh: stray from the path, and all is lost 

Andrew Tholl: my memories are never an accurate representation 

Scott Worthington: Opacity 

Salvatore Sciarrino: capriccio di una corda 


Marco Fusi is an Italian violinist, violist, and viola d'amore player visiting Los Angeles as part of a US tour. His concert here will feature music by Italian Perluigi Billone and a collection of young Californians, including Scott Worthington and Annie Hui-Hsin Hsieh.

He has been invited to present this project in addition to giving concerts, masterclasses and lectures at University of Southern California, Columbia University, Arizona State University, Basel Musikhochschule, and the University of Chicago.

Marco has studied with Dimitrios Polisoidis, Ernst Kovacic and Jeanne-Marie Conquer, and has performed with conductors and soloists including Pierre Boulez, Lorin Maazel, Peter Eötvös, Beat Furrer, Susanna Mälkki, Vladimir Ashkenazy, Gustav Kuhn, Jürg Wyttenbach, Jean Deroyer, and Marco Angius. He has premiered new works by composers Castiglioni, Eötvös, Sciarrino, Vacchi, and Cattaneo, among others. 

Marco has collaborated with Ensemble Algoritmo (Rome), Interface (Frankfurt), Proton (Bern), Linea (Strasbourg), Phoenix (Basel), l'Arsenale (Treviso), MotoPerpetuo (NYC), Ecce (Boston), Handwerk (Köln). Marco was a member of Lucerne Festival Academy from 2007 to 2012, under the artistic and musical direction of Pierre Boulez. 

His complete recordings of John Cage's Freeman Etudes was released by Stradivarius in 2011. 

Tickets $12 general/$10 Current VPES members

Available at